The terms assault and battery are often used synonymously with each other. However, the two criminal actions are very different and result in many different penalties if convicted. Assault, as stipulated by Nevada law, is the act of attempting to intimidate or frighten another individual. Battery involves unwanted physical contact or another form of violence that may result in bodily harm. Frequently, battery crimes involve the use of a deadly weapon.
If you have been arrested and charged with either of these crimes, you need to seek qualified legal representation immediately. Both of these crimes are profoundly serious and can result in lengthy prison sentences and a permanent criminal record for the rest of your life. Do not trust your future to chance. Contact the Goodwin Law Group, PLLC of Las Vegas, NV, to schedule a free consultation.
Are Assault or Battery Charges Classified as Felonies?
Assault or battery charges can be classified in a number of ways. Various factors can determine how the alleged offender is charged, such as:
- The victim’s injuries
- Whether or not a weapon was used in the commission of the crime
- The defendant’s prior criminal record
Depending on these factors, the defendant could be charged with a misdemeanor, a gross misdemeanor, or a felony.
What are the Penalties for Assault or Battery?
Under Nevada law, an assault or battery conviction is typically a misdemeanor that carries a maximum jail sentence of up to 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. The court also has the legal discretion to order a defendant to perform community service in lieu of jail time. However, if aggravating factors are involved, then the penalties become significantly higher.
What are Aggravating Factors?
Aggravating factors can include the use of a deadly weapon during the commission of the crime. If a deadly weapon is involved, the assault or battery charge is bumped up from a misdemeanor to a felony. If convicted of assault with a deadly weapon, a defendant could face up to one to 6 years in prison and a $5,000 fine. If a deadly weapon is used in a case involving battery, the defendant could face up to a prison sentence ranging from two to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
How Can Your Law Firm Help Me?
If you have been charged with either assault or battery, then you need an experienced criminal defense attorney in Las Vegas to build a strong defense against your charges. Even though either of these crimes could be charged as a misdemeanor depending on the circumstances, they are very serious and could prohibit you from obtaining future opportunities. Convictions for assault or battery could prevent you from holding a professional license, attending the school of your choice, or obtaining housing.
One of the best steps that you can take to protect your freedom and your future is to contact the Goodwin Law Group, PLLC of Las Vegas, NV, by calling (702) 472 9594 to schedule a free consultation.