In Nevada, you can be charged with domestic battery if you commit a violent offense upon another individual with whom you have an intimate relationship. Nevada law makes it clear that domestic battery is a criminal offense and that law enforcement has the right to prosecute you for this type of behavior.
If you have been arrested and are facing charges related to domestic battery, then you need a skilled defense attorney in Las Vegas on your side. Domestic battery charges can remain on your permanent record forever and cause you to lose future opportunities. Contact the law offices of the Goodwin Law Group, PLLC of Las Vegas, NV, to schedule a free consultation as soon as possible.
What Type of Relationships Qualify for Domestic Battery Charges?
Nevada law has established that certain physical abuse within “intimate relationships” qualifies for the charge of domestic battery. Those relationships include:
- Current and former spouses
- Individuals who are cohabitating
- Individuals who are currently in or had a dating relationship
- Parents of a minor-aged child
- Individuals who share a child
- Individuals related by blood or marriage
What are the Criminal Penalties for Domestic Battery?
If you are charged with domestic battery, and it is your first or even second offense, it is typically charged as a misdemeanor. If convicted, you could face the following criminal penalties:
First Violation: You could be ordered to spend anywhere from two to 6 days in jail, pay a fine ranging from $200 to $1,000 and perform 48 to 120 hours of community service.
Second Violation: If you commit a second violation within 7 years of your first domestic battery offense, you could spend between 20 days to 6 months in jail, be ordered to pay a fine of between $500 and $1,000, and perform 100 to 200 hours of community service.
Can Domestic Battery Be Charged as a Felony?
Although domestic battery is typically considered to be a misdemeanor, there are certain factors that can cause you to be charged with a Category B felony which include:
- A third offense in the span of 7 years
- Causing substantial bodily injury, which includes a high probability of death, serious permanent disfigurement, or loss or impairment of a limb or organ.
- A second offense in which you knew or should have reasonably known that the victim was pregnant.
If convicted, you could face from one to 6 years in prison and fines ranging from $1,000 to $5,000.
Do I Need to Hire a Criminal Defense Attorney if I Have Been Charged With Domestic Battery?
Any time you are facing criminal charges, you need to hire a skilled criminal defense attorney to represent you. A conviction for domestic battery can haunt you for the rest of your life and make it difficult to obtain certain types of employment. This is especially true if your career involves holding a professional license. Do not trust your future to chance; obtain experienced legal representation immediately.
If you have been charged with domestic battery, contact the law offices of the Goodwin Law Group, PLLC of Las Vegas, NV, by calling (702) 472 9594 to schedule a free consultation.